The Sync and Share solution for Science
CERNBox is cloud-based storage, synchronization and sharing for science. Users can easily access their files via the Web interface, have them synchronized with the CERNBox desktop client, and share single documents or entire folders with colleagues. CERNBox is also accessible from mobile devices via the CERNBox app with which it is possible to automatically upload pics and videos shot with the on-board camera to the cloud.
- Synchronization across devices: Synchronize your files seamlessly with all your desktop and laptop PCs via the CERNBox synchronization client.
- Your files always available: Access your files independently on your location and the type of device you are using. As far as you are connected to the Internet, you can download and upload files using the CERNBox Web interface or the mobile application for your smartphone and tablet.
- Offline files availability: A local copy of your files is available on your desktop and laptop PCs even when you are not connected to the Internet. As soon as the connection is re-established, the latest version of your files will automatically be downloaded from the cloud and local changes will be uploaded. The mobile application for smartphones and tablets allow you to choose the files you want to have available offline.
- Selective synchronization: The CERNBox synchronization client allows the exclusion of specific folders from the synchronization process. This will result in having such folders kept stored in the cloud but not on your desktop or laptop PCs.
- Sharing functionalities: CERNBox allows the sharing of files or of entire folders either by link (i.e., providing an URL at which the shared resource is available) or by authenticated share (i.e., sharing the resource with another CERNBox user). Advanced sharing options are available, e.g., the ability to password-protect the shared resource or to make it editable by your peers.
- File versioning: CERNBox automatically creates a snapshot of a file every time a new version is uploaded. The 10 most recent snapshots are stored in CERNBox and users can restore an older version of a file in case of changes to be reverted.
- Trash bin: When a user deletes a file, this is not directly deleted but moved into a trash bin. Files into the trash bin are recoverable in order to avoid deletions by mistake.